AEMCON at Breakout West: The Electronic Music Showcase at 9910 in Edmonton

Electronic music at Breakout West Edmonton

This week, the BreakOut West Conference takes over Edmonton for a weekend of learning, music, and networking.  As part of the festival showcases, we're proud to support the Electronic Music Showcase that will be happening on Friday, September 15th at 9910.

The line-up features an amazing mixture of western Canadian artists who range from hip-hop to synth-pop. Below you'll find set times and a little information about each artist. Grab a conference pass from the Breakout West website, and you'll get free entry into all the shows all weekend!

Two of AEMCON's co-founders will also be in attendance for much of the conference. Isis Graham (aka Esette) was nominated for the "Electronic/Dance Artist of the Year" award as part of the Western Canada Music Awards and Andrew Williams (aka Dunmore Park) is helping out with the industry 1-on-1s on Friday.

We hope to see you there!

The Electronic Music Showcase features the talents of:

9:00 PM Alpha Toshineza

Alpha Toshineza is a versatile artist: a graphic designer, producer and French-speaking rapper. He is also the founder of record label Jazz Inuit. Born and raised in Luxembourg (Europe), Alpha started his career in the early 90s. He was in different groups before going solo, performing under the name Gospel Emcee. Between 2003 and 2013, he released different projects (2 albums, many EPs), collaborated with acclaimed producers and rappers like Kev Brown and Oddisee, and performed in different countries across Europe. In 2014, Alpha finally moved to Winnipeg (Manitoba) and started collaborating with local recording artists like Kelly Bado, Justin Lacroix, Elessar Thiessen and many more. In February 2017, he finally released his latest album "Jazz Inuit", a project that was critically acclaimed by the French-Canadian media. After being part of 2 major TV shows (Planète BRBR and Balade à Toronto), he was finally nominated for "Francophone Artist of the Year" at the Western Canadian Music Awards. His music (clearly influenced by 90s boombap), his unique poetry and his stage presence make him an ambassador for French-Manitoban hip hop.

10:00 PM Transit22

Transit22 is an Independent Music Award winner and Western Canadian Music Award nominated rapper, a Calgary poet laureate finalist and a winner of a Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Emerging Artist Award. He has released 6 albums which have sold thousands of copies, and has collaborated with Rhymesayers recording artist Grieves, Sims of Doomtree, Astronautalis, Madchild of Swollen Members, and 8-time Juno Award winner Jann Arden. Transit22 has toured as a headliner several times and has also supported tours of Canada, the United States, and Europe with Doomtree, Sage Francis, Swollen Members, Apathy & Celph Titled, Astronautalis, and Zion I, and has shared stages with internationally recognized names like Mac Miller, Tech N9ne, Murs, Hilltop Hoods, Dirty Heads, Down With Webster, Shad, and 54-40. Transit22 has been selected to showcase at prestigious festivals like SXSW, CMW, and Breakout West, and has performed live in front of over 200,000 people with a stint as a featured artist on the Calgary Stampede main stage. He has received national media coverage including features on Global TV, CTV, CBC TV, Shaw TV, CBC Radio One, in Maclean's Magazine, and regular MuchMusic rotation of his music videos, which have also gotten substantial support online with over 1,000,000 views on YouTube.

11:00 PM - I M U R

I M U R (I am you are), is an East Vancouver live electronic act with a hybrid sound influenced by 90’s hip-hop/r&b, electronic, experimental, and soul. The band consists of producer Mikey J Blige on live beat composition and electric guitar, singer-songwriter Jenny Lea on keys, vocals, and looping, and multi-instrumentalist Amine Bouzaher on electric violin and bass. Effortlessly harnessing the emotive interplay between instrumentation and vocals, I M U R displays an intuitive understanding of how tone and texture can evince a myriad of thoughts and feelings leaving their audience infatuated and coming back for more.

12:00 AM Melted Mirror

A synth-pop trio from Calgary, Melted Mirror creates a widescreen vision of dark, radioactive synth-pop, all neon fallout and mournfully ecstatic. Initially a synthesizer & drum machine project between Cian Haley (Catholic Girls, Mt Analogue) and Chris Zajko (Sharp Ends, Soft Option, The Ostrich), the duo added guitarist Jeebs Nabil (Memo, Vivian Maier) in 2015 and produced their sixsong self-titled debut. The band has since released a full length album in 2016 (titled Borderzone) and has continued building a following across Western Canada, with yet another full length record coming in 2017. Years of post-punk experience might seep through, but Melted Mirror is the most slick n’ sunglassed pop project from anybody involved. Zajko’s voice takes to synth-pop like a glove, rounding over contours and melodies with commanding ease. Haley’s synthesizer skirts between the immediate and distantly foreboding, crafting hooks and jagged atmosphere all at once. Nabil’s guitar bounces somewhere in between, with chiming textures punctuating a sound closer to new wave than the more punk-inclined work of any of the members’ previous bands. Together, their sound recalls the stained-eyed drift of Chromatics with the propulsive hypnotism of Harmonia or Neu!


Holed up in the pop culture hinterland of Winnipeg, VIKINGS has been crafting big melodies and headlining festivals without leaving the walls of their prairie ice palace. It's not often anyone breaks out of here – but VIKINGS has places to be. It's a sound you'd expect in London, Los Angeles, or Atlanta; but Winnipeg? Maybe its true, and there's something in that frozen water that's growing big sounds in a quiet little town. Focusing on those big sounds and the spaces in between, VIKINGS' music is equal parts dance-worthy and expansive synth trip; featuring the earworm vocals of Josh Youngson – long ago punk-singer now falsetto-wielding crowd-mover. Flanked by two brothers, Dave and James McNabb – each manning a bastion of synths – and with Luke Janzen on drums – adding the foundation – VIKINGS step out of the box and onto the dance floor. Animal Kingdom EP was released by Head In The Sand (Apparat Organ Quartet, Les Jupes, Rococode) on March 10th. The lead single Burning Man, and a bunch more you haven’t heard yet, are being mixed by Billy Bush (Tegan & Sara, Snow Patrol, Garbage).

Conference passes for BreakOut West can be purchased here.